Question: What are the main powers of each branch?











Answer: We will go more in depth later, but here are the basics for now:

1. Legislative Branch - Makes laws, approves Presidential appointments, overrides vetoes, declares war, regulates interstate trade, and impeaches federal officials including the President.

2. Executive Branch - Commander-in-Chief of the military, signs and vetoes laws, pardons people to forgive their federal crimes, makes treaties, appoints government officials, recommends laws to Congress, and delivers the State of the Union Address.

3. Judicial Branch - Decides if legislation is in line with the US Constitution. They can settle the disputes of state vs. state. The Supreme Court can strike down federal (national government) laws, as well as high state court decisions.


Click here for next flash card.      Back to eFlashcard headquarters