Compromise of 1850

California was admitted as a free state.

The slave trade was abolished (the sale of slaves, not the institution of slavery) in the District of Columbia.

The Territory of New Mexico (including present-day Arizona) and the Territory of Utah were organized under the rule of popular sovereignty.

The Fugitive Slave Act was passed, requiring all U.S. citizens to assist in the return of runaway slaves.

Texas gave up much of the western land which it claimed and received compensation of $10,000,000 to pay off its national debt.